Crosscut pecan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from MedWoodWorx

MedWoodWorx

This pen is made from a lovely piece of crosscut pecan wood that @Edgar sent me with his PITH pen. It is my first attempt to modify a slimline and i think it came out really nice. I used pens plus as a finish although the pores would be filled better with ca; on the other hand i didn't want the plastic feeling of ca. Choices, choices.
I struggled to take proper pictures,the grain of that wood is crazy, hope you like it, cheers

Attachments

• IMG_20220620_193419.jpg
    IMG_20220620_193419.jpg
    252.7 KB · Views: 155
  • IMG_20220620_193903.jpg
    IMG_20220620_193903.jpg
    258.7 KB · Views: 155
  • IMG_20220620_193347.jpg
    IMG_20220620_193347.jpg
    253.8 KB · Views: 147
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Very nice. I agree that at times having a finish that allows a more natural feel is appealing, as well as NOT filling all the pores. I frequently prefer to have a more 'natural' feel off the pen - certainly sealed, but not made into a solid surface. (I use Wipe On Poly, Oil based).

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Very nice, Mike. I agree with Mark James. My go-to finishes are Wipe-On-Poly or Myland's Friction Polish followed by Hut PPP wax

MedWoodWorx

Very nice, Mike. I agree with Mark James. My go-to finishes are Wipe-On-Poly or Myland's Friction Polish followed by Hut PPP wax
Is mylanda friction polish a build up finish? I don't like polys and similar varnishes. Thank you for your advice.

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Is mylanda friction polish a build up finish? I don't like polys and similar varnishes. Thank you for your advice.