Corncobs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Scott

This is my first time posting here, so please take pity on me! OK, so it's my first time posting on the Casting & Stabilization forum, anyway! :D

Perry sent me some great slim corncobs for my experiment in turning slim corncob pens. They are thin, and very light weight. I think they would benefit greatly from some amount of stabilization. I don't have a pressure pot, and frankly haven't tried stabilizing anything before (unless you count copious amounts of CA while turning!). Is there something I can just soak the cobs in that will eventually soak in and harden them, even a bit?

I'm thinking of using some polyurethane, soaking for a few days, dry for a few days, then drill and turn. I suspect that I will need to still use my CA, but if this would allow me to at least drill them proper, I would be happy.

What do you think, oh Guru's of stabilization?

Scott.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kirkfranks

I use a coffee can with Plexi and acetone mix.
I made it just for that purpose and it did work prette good.
Had to put something on top to keep them from floating to the top.
Left them in about a week. Once they came out I let them cure another week.
I think they were probably dry in about 5 min, but I was not in a hurry.

Give it a try. Don't cost much.:D

leehljp

Member Liaison