Compressor recommendation

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

gerryr

I need to get a compressor and need some recommendations. My "shop" is in the basement, furnace room actually, so I need something that is as quiet as possible so I don't drive my wife and son nuts with the noise. I have limited space to work with so I also don't want or even need some monster, although I can see that a larger air receiver would have advantages in that the compressor wouldn't have to run as often.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alamocdc

Gerry, I'm by no means an expert, but this is what I know. I just bought the first compressor I found on sale about 8 years ago. I didn't really know anything about them and am sorry I didn't do a little more research. I still use it, but wish I had bought one that had more CFM (cubic feet per minute). If you intend to use any pneumatic tools at all, you'll need it. Otherwise the compressor will stay in "run" mode and still not be able to keep up. There are a number of small sized, high CFM and high PSI (what you want) compressors on the market. HF even has some, and they should do fine. The larger the tank, the more you can pull from it w/o cycling the compressor on and off, so get the largest you have space (and $$$ for). BTW, I don't know of such a thing as a "quite" compressor.

If you intend to spray finishes with it, get a oil/moisture trap (also available from HF) as either of these will ruin a finish.

gerryr

Thanks Cav and Billy. I only plan to use it for cleaning sanding dust from blanks, casting PR, powdercoating and blowing out the drip irrigation system. I could just keep using my 10 gallon air tank, but it's approaching an age when it needs to be replaced and the more uses I find for air, the more frequently I need to refill it, which makes it age faster. Do I need a moisture trap for powder coating?

Jerryconn