Coin bending

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Joe S.

After a bit of trial and error, I finially found a way to thin and bend coins that will be useful after a bit of practice. My only roadblock is the burnt black stuff left on the coin after being thinned. I tried a crude method of buffing (I'm a total amateur at buffing and don't have a decent buffing system yet) and it got some of it off, but began to wear down the details of the coin. Any ideas on how to deal with this? The coin pictured is a copper 1981 penny from my pocket, I didn't pay attention to how it was oriented, I just bent it.

Attachments

• image-1725445179.jpg
    image-1725445179.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 1,205
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Nellieteach

How about a pickle solution to remove the CuO like used when annealing copper when making jewelry? Either a home made saturated solution of salt and vinegar that is warmed or a purchased pickle from a jewelry making supply company. If the black is from annealing the coin then a pickle should remove it.

Last edited:

Kenny Durrant

I'm curious to how you thined the coin. I use a dremel tool and do it all by hand therefore I can go a slow speed and stop when it gets too hot. I have only done quarters and one dime so cleaning them up was easy with the dremel. I also collect coins and a friend of mine had some acid and we dipped a penny and it cleaned it up but also turned it pink. Didn't like that at all so try that on a coin before doing any other work to it. Good luck.

Joe S.

I used a belt sander, a penny will fit snugly into a 3/4" indent in scrap wood made by a fornster bit. Still looking into doing the same thing with nickels. How does the Dremel work? I tried it with one of the grinding stones and it seemed like it would take days to do.

theidlemind

I use a spray bottle of water to keep the coin cool. Go slow, keep the coin cool and there will be no black stuff to remove (other than the normal grime).