Coasters

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from delbruce

delbruce

Newbie here and enjoying reading all about everything. Thought I'd ask a question a little off topic, but still dealing with wood.
I have a set of 6 coasters made from round branches of different species of trees(domestic.. walnut, oak, pine, juniper, etc.) The are about are about 3 inches diameter and about 1/4-3/8 inch think. What makes them unusual and beautiful is the hartwood/sapwood color. They seem to have flock on the bottom and the top is finished to a highly sanded( satin gloss finish) Friends have commented and wanted a set, so I'm trying to figure out how to do it.
I can get a source for cutting them, but...how do you suggest I keep them from doing all the things wood likes to do like checking, splitting, curling etc.
Would you cut them dry or green?
I've had some thoughts on waxing the ends, cutting them and waxing the whole thing, cutting and putting between two boards and clamp for a long time..
Any help would be greatly appreciated.. delbruce@aol.com if you would rather.
Thank you , Bruce

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wb7whi

Do both. Experiment, thats part of the hobby. Your problems will come from the pith so when you wax, wax the pith on both sides assuming you have cut the branch into sections. If not then just wax the ends of the branches.

As kinda an afterthought you can get an old non-working freezer or fridge and strip it out. Drill some 1/2 in holes on the bottom sides and the top sides. Install a 100 watt lightbulb and a small dc fan and you have a klin. Should be able to find a freezer for nothing on craigs list. Just a thought.

KenBrasier