Christian from Germany

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chris_11

Hello,

I am from Germany and new to wood turning and pen making. I work longer on a metal lathe, self build CNC mill and have now since a few weeks a wood turning lathe. First bowls from plum are made and I am now looking into pen making. Hope that I learn a lot here and will show my first most likely ugly results hopefully in the next few weeks. I am almost 60 years old and have an electrical engineering job, so it is something different. Any help, recommendation and critique is welcome.

br
Christian

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi Chris !! . Warm welcome to IAP !!! . :D

You want my recommendation ? . Start making pens with your metal-working lathe .... right away !! . You have the experience with that lathe so use it !

I have been making pens of all types (about 3000 so far) for over 10 years using only a metal-working lathe.

Last edited:

chris_11

Hello,
the Metal lathe is a 3.75 ton 600x1000mm VDF 3K beast made 1959. The biggest drawback is its 475 RPM Limit. For short time I can run it faster but with a 315mm chuck and Mk5 Tailstock I think a bit oversized for pen maling. However perfect to make whatever metal tools are needed. The wood lath is a "midi Pro". Here the Link to one German vendor.

I don't want to make any advertisment, only that you get an idea how it looks.

magpens

@chris_11

I see ! ... Yes, a bit on the big size ! . Thanks for explaining ! :) . But I am pretty sure it would turn pens OK.

BTW, I rarely go over 600 RPM and spend much of my turning time at around 250 RPM. . The lower speeds are good for acrylics, and are actually adequate for hardwoods. . After all, you ( or I ) always sand before finishing, so the the low speed is not really a disadvantage.

The low speed is actually really good for drilling your pen blanks. . Many people complain that wood lathes won't go slow enough !

Last edited:

Curly

Hi Christian