Choosing quality kits...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rusty914

Good afternoon, everyone.

I've been lurking for some time, but only registered this week. I recently finished my pen turning class and have the PSI instructional DVD.

I've made a few pens, mostly "slim line" style kits. I feel I'm ready to move onto what I really love - fountain pens. The ball point and pencil kits that I used seemed, well, a bit cheap.

I've been writing with fountain pens for many years. I believe there's nothing like the feel of a good pen. I don't plan to sell my work, but rather give them away to loved ones and build a collection for myself.

I've spent time reading past threads and have noticed comments that certain kits seem to have specific flaws. Can anyone suggest some quality kits & sources to start with?

kind regards,
Rusty

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BrentK

Rusty I have found that most of the retailers sell a nice pen. Arizona Silhoette sells the Baron and Sedona very nice pens in my opinion. There is also the Jr. Gent and Jr Retro. I have only used the roller ball kits but they do come in the foutain pen also.
Thats just my two cents.

Malainse

Rusty, Welcome to the group...

Craft Supply USA has several fountain pens kits...That are of good quality.
http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/store/Pen_Making?Args=
The Jr Gentlemen,s, Jr. statesman and Retro all take the same tube/bushings and drill bits.

They have other kits that might be to your liking, Emperor, Lotus and Imperial that are of good quality...

-------------
As far as nibs, the ones that come with the kits are not the best. I recommend you purchase upgraded or 18 K ones form DCBluesman (Lou) who is a member of this site. Good quality and price. Plus he is a good guy...;)
http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=32430

Texatdurango