Stabilization Cheapest wood stabilization method

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Heya all,

As said on one of my previous threads, I was conducting some researches to find some cheaper method to stabilize pen blanks (wood in general).
The alternative to Cactus Juice in my country sells around 50€/L (maybe few € less now) which is tremendously expensive.
I was thus looking for other stabilization methods but had one condition : it should be heat activated stabilization (thermosetting).
Found quite few components which will be documented through several videos/test.

Here is the first one. Just note that I'm not a professionnal "tester" nor a chemist. The purpose here is to find a cheaper alternative to cactus juice and share with the community. May you have found the video interesting or usefull, please drop a thumbs up. I do not make any money on youtube, nor have I a sponsor, so the thumbs up is the only satisfaction I could get from a video that has cost me around 100€ just for a test :).

The first test consist of comparing 3 paraloids (B44, B67 and B72). For those who dont know (like me few months ago) what paraloid is, it is a theromplastic resin mostly used for fossil conservation (hardening/stabilization). Why these 3 varieties? Because these were the most accessible in my country.

I'll share here the comparison results (based on my subjectivity I mean objectivity). On the second picture below, it shows the result of 4 turned blanks and all of them have a 1 pass CA Glue finish and sanded up to 400 grit. Honestly, if I had gone with micromesh up to higher grits I would have gotten glass like finish (only with 1 CA glue pass). The X one is the cactus juice stabilized.
Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG