Cast- In tube sealing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wpixley

I am new to pen turning, approx 3 months, and have decided to make some clear acrylic pen blanks as gifts for the upcoming holidays. Unfortunately, I can't seem to properly seal the stickers or labels to the tube. My first attempt failed as the sticker adhesive lifted during casting while subsequent attempts, 5 at this point, have failed after sealing with mod podge or clear lacquer. I have allowed the sealers to cure for a minimum of 24 hours but still get blistering or crinkling effects. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.:confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wpixley

Have researched issue at length on the forum, including the threads you provide, and don't see my particular issue covered.

Thanks for your response and time.

Cwalker935

I am not sure if this gets to your question or not. When casting photographs, I print the photo on an avery mailing label, attach the label to the tube and spray with clearcote acrylic sealer. That has worked well for me. Here is a Robert E Lee pen that I made using this technique.

image.jpg

seamus7227

Multiple ?'s first.

1. what type of labels are you using(name brand and description)
2. what type of resin are you using to cast with?
3. what type of molds are you casting in?
4. Are you warming your resin and if so, to what temps?

this is not a question, but get rid of the modge pod for sealing. Put on some latex gloves and wipe on an even coat of Medium CA over the entire label and let it set up for several days.

BE PATIENT ALSO!!! But I am interested in knowing the answers to the above questions first.

plantman