Caribbean Swirl Jr. Statesman

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from constamj

constamj

I worked on this a couple weeks ago and just got around to taking the pictures. Please feel free to give me feedback good or bad. I'm new to this art and want to learn as much as I can.

200832403722_CarBlue1.jpg

200832403734_CarBlueOpen1.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Nicely done Michael,

I turn a lot of CSUSA celluloid, including this one. Do you paint your tubes? I find that if I paint them white it adds a radiance to the look of the pen, black on the tubes brings it down a bit and adds density to the look. Just sharing an idea.

Again the pen looks great.[8D]

constamj

Jim, I did not paint the tube on this one. I wish I had. Near the edges I can see some brass show through. What type of paint do you use? Do you spray the tube or the hole in the blank? Does this cause any problems with the glue being used?

Thanks for the insight.

rdunn12

You can paint your tubes with Krylon or other spray paints.Krylon dries fast.Glue it in with epoxy after painting.I have'nt had any problems.

ldb2000

Wonderful pen love the color
For the tubes get the nickel plated tubes from craft supply (or an chrome electroplating kit ) the shiny silver makes the lighter colors pop

Randy_

I have seen those blanks in the catalog and have been considering the purchase of a few. Now that I have seen your pen I will definitely put a few on order. They are very nice.

I am in partial agreement with the previous poster who thought the pen was too fat. I think the cap is just fine. It is the barrel that strikes me as being a little bulky and in need of a light trim.