Can I use laquer/varnish to finish stabilized wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sigge

Hi everyone

I am rather new to penturning but I was recently asked to make a pen for a freind of mine and we choose the wood together and he choose a stabilized buckeye burl

http://www.pennstateind.com/store/WXBG4-334.html

My question is can i use a varnish/laquer to finish this pen?

Anyone that has any experience with varnish and stabilized wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
sigge,
I tried varnish on a stabilized blank before, but wasn't thrilled with the results as compared to just sanding/MM to 12000. IMO, stabilized wood usually doesn't need additional finishes. On the rare stabilized blank that wanted additional finishing, I've just done a couple CA coats.

Triple buffing them sometimes will give an extra pop, also.

PTownSubbie

So, are you saying that you don't have to put a finish on stabilized wood?

I just purchased my first stabilized blanks and haven't turned any yet.

Will a finish go on a stabilized blank the same as a non-stabilized blank? If so, why would you not finish it? Drawbacks?

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
Stabilizing allows us to use wood that would otherwise be difficult to turn and finish without large quantities of CA glue to firm it up; but it is not without its problems. Finishing can be one of those problems, and we are often in one of those damned if you do and damned if you don't situations.

Very few, if any, blanks are 100% saturated with the plastic. There will always be some amount of wood fiber exposed on most stabilized blanks. Some blanks are close enough to 100% saturation that it doesn't matter, and it can be treated as a plastic; but most of them aren't. This has nothing to do with who did the stabilizing, it is just the nature of the wood and the stabilization process.