CA Finish problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Guthriecb

I'm new to pen turning, have done a few and getting a little better with each on. I've been watching videos on CA finishes and have really been enjoying them. However I turned two Purple Heart pens today and when I finished them they had splotches that appeared to be under the glue. You can see it in the pics. I sanded them to 600 grit. Rubbed them with teak oil, sanded with 2000 grit and did the CA finish. I've had lots of luck with that so far with all my other pens. In fact, I did 2 padauk today as well the same way and didn't have a problem. Is it something with Purple Heart or is it the oil? Thanks in advance I look forward to the help.

Attachments

• 54A90A5D-27D1-4A37-A2CF-9ACEC9097EED.jpeg
    54A90A5D-27D1-4A37-A2CF-9ACEC9097EED.jpeg
    182.9 KB · Views: 480
  • CFB8F81D-A866-4117-A25D-E55A2A0791EC.jpeg
    CFB8F81D-A866-4117-A25D-E55A2A0791EC.jpeg
    181.9 KB · Views: 452
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bsshog40

Purpleheart can be oily by itself. Adding the teak oil may have caused it to have too much oil in it causing the CA to not cure good enough. I would say just sand it down, wipe it with some denatured alcohol and let it dry for a bit. I wouldn't use the teak oil again, just make sure it's dry and go straight to the CA. Others may have more experience with it so I would wait for others to chime in.

Guthriecb

Thanks bsshog. I think I'm not gonna try to fix this one but going forward I think I'm gonna skip the teak oil on Purple Heart and go with the alcohol like you said.

keithbyrd

the only oil I have ever used with CA was BLO and then only an agent when applying the finish. but I haven't used that method in years. As bishop said said to final grit, wipe with alcohol, let dry and do CA finish.

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator