Bottle Stopper Threaded Insert Problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Pompeio

I am a novice on turning bottle stoppers and not too much experience turning pens for that matter. I am using a Ruth Niles stopper as well as her threaded insert but the hole I made is too large in diameter for the insert to properly fit. I would hate to lose the wood (spalted tamarind) I am turning as I already have a good portion of it turned in the shape of a wine glass. Would it be safe to fill the hole with wood epoxy and then re-drill the blank to get a more snug insert fit?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

Depending on the situation another option could possibly be cutting most of the oversized hole away and then re-drilling with a smaller bit. You might not even need to cut the entire oversized hole away as long as the insert fits nicely in new, smaller hole as it should center the insert even if there is a bigger gap at the very top. You could then fill the gap with epoxy.

I think my first approach would be as "pewink" suggested, plug the hole with a dowel and then re-drill.

Just some ideas to consider - Dave

monophoto

So two solutions have been suggested - epoxy putty to pad out the oversized hole and glue the insert into the blank, and gluing in a dowel that can be redrilled the proper diameter to receive the threaded insert.

There is a third approach that might be even better.

The basic challenge in making wooden stoppers is that they are typically spindle turnings where the fibers in the timber are lengthwise, parallel to the bedways of the lathe when the blank is turned. As a result, a hole in the end of the blank that is threaded using an ordinary tap will have weak threads that can shear out, either during tapping, or later as the blank is being turned. The conventional way to minimize the risk of this happening is to strengthen the threads by saturating them in thin CA.