Blank Drilling issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RProctor

I am relatively new to pen turning I have about 12-15 pens under my belt but have the material to make about another 25. I don't have a pen vise but drill with a Jacobs Chuck in my tailstock and my blank in a Nova G3 Chuck with Pen Jaws. I have the Rockler Excelsior mini lathe. Bought it in February (I think) when the carbide pen tool kit was free with purchase. I am experience a lot of heat when I drill....to the point of acryllic blanks and acrylester cracking from the heat to the point of total loss. I had an olivewood blank get so hot the wax melted and it was no longer safe in the chuck. I've tried various speeds, feed rates, how often I clear chips, etc. Eventually I want to move to my drill press and a vise but for now this is what I have. The lathe is 5 speed (belt/pulley change system) of 760, 1160, 1600, 2200, 3200 rpm. I most commonly seem to be using a 3/8 brad point pit. Any thoughts from the wise here are much appreciated. Thanks for your time and make it a great day!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pshrynk

Get a spritz bottle - I use one that used to hold fluid to clean my glasses - and fill it almost to the top with water. Then drop in 2-3 drops of dish washing liquid or liquid soap. Every time you clear the drill, spritz the drill and keep doing it until the water stops boiling off and it is comfortable to the touch. Then spray into the hole and restart drilling. I just got a can of spray drill lube, but haven't had the chance to try it yet, so I'll report back when i have.

magpens

Brad point drills are not very good for drilling pen blanks, in my opinion.

You are drilling in the best possible way .... you don't need a drill press, which will result in less accurate results.

Your problem may be with your drill bit ... a high quality High Speed Steel (HSS) machinist's drill bit should go through Olivewood quite easily with not much heat