Blank and Tube Problems

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rmiller

Hey there everyone. As most of you know, I am still really new to this pen making. I began making my first pen and a couple of keyrings the other day, but I ran into a problem and have a question for y'all. While gluing the tube into one of the blanks for my Slimline pen, the tube shifted just a little. But it shifted far enough for the tube to be sticking out of the end of the blank a fraction of an inch. Probably less than 1/64 to be honest.

My question is this; Can I turn the blank off of the tube in order to save it, or should I just not bother and call it gaining experience? I would order some new tubes, but the shipping cost more than 10 7mm tubes. So I am curious as to what y'all would do if you were in the same situation.

Thanks in advance.

God Bless and Stay Safe

Rodney

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bsshog40

I would just turn it. I always cut my blank at least a 1/8" longer than my tube so I can square the ends to the tube.

To answer your question, yes, you can mount the offending tube and turn off the naughty wood. Been there, Done that. Got the t shirt to prove it. Only thing is to be real careful as you get close. When I am in that mode, I usually turn it till i just barely begin to see brass and then sand the rest of the way.
On a Slimline, if it's really just a wee bit sticking out, you can just turn it like Bobby says and make up the difference as you assemble. On other pens, tube length is super important and turning off a protuding end wouldn't be recommended.
Good luck, Rodney. Share a pic when you are done!

Fuzzy63

Been there several times also. I just turn the blank off till almost to the brass tube and then sand the rest of the way. At least you save the pen kit this way. This has always worked for me. Hope this helps.
Gary

Fuzzy63