Blade Kit Click Issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Angela S

I have made about 4 of the Blade Kit Click pens. I like the way they look but the click mechanisms keeps sticking. Sometimes it won't click to extend the tip of the pen. If I completely unscrew the mechanism and screw it back on, it works fine. This is my first time using a kit with the Schmidt click mechanism and I am confused because I have only heard good things about them on this site. Does anyone have any ideas about what id happening?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I only have the psi ed carry and ed classic: sometimes the click housing has to be tightened, by hand (then use blue loc tite on the threads, optionally). Same thing with the nib end, When both ends loosen it makes the pen barrel longer and too long for the point extend. I have no experience with recent Berea kits.

magpens

After you remove and reinstall the click mechanism, does it eventually fail again ?

Haven't made a Blade kit, but I have made other kits that use the Schmidt SKM-88 mechanism. . Had no troubles with sticking at all.
I do have some of the Blade kits and have played with the mechanisms quite a bit ... no problems ... they extend and retract as they should.

I also have made some kitless pens using this click mech without any problems.

If you can't get any help here on IAP, I would suggest that you phone Berea and ask for Jim H. (the owner). . He would be fully conversant with any technical issues and would be the best person to help you. . He would also be able to send replacement mechanisms if it comes to that.

You might ask him if a very tiny drop of WD-40 could help out but I would not apply that until he gives the OK. . I've never had to do that.