Best blanks for practising threading?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ibex

I'm just starting out on the kitless journey and I expect that there will be a few failures in my initial cutting of threads. I don't want to waste the more expensive quality blanks while I'm learning how to do this so are there any recommended cheaper types of blanks for practising on?

Locally acrylic blanks seem to be the cheapest but I've seen reports that acrylic is not really suited for cutting threads.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

showcaser

I'm just starting out on the kitless journey and I expect that there will be a few failures in my initial cutting of threads. I don't want to waste the more expensive quality blanks while I'm learning how to do this so are there any recommended cheaper types of blanks for practising on?

Locally acrylic blanks seem to be the cheapest but I've seen reports that acrylic is not really suited for cutting threads.
It has more to do with size of tenon and size of hole drilled. Ebonite threads wonderfully. Here is a Aussie Bespoke Pen facebook group that are very helpful too. https://www.facebook.com/groups/2945511102377964

Alumilite and other epoxy resins thread very well. Fiberglass type resins can be problematic. I found that most hexagonal dies don't work well for cutting new threads.

PatrickR

Acrylic threads fine while being a little brittle. Ebonite is more forgiving, but if you can thread acrylic successfully ebonite will be a breeze. With acrylic undersize the tenon a little and if you need to tighten the die any do it in very small amounts.
hexagonal dies are made to repair existing threads not cut new ones.

ibex

Acrylic threads fine while being a little brittle. Ebonite is more forgiving, but if you can thread acrylic successfully ebonite will be a breeze. With acrylic undersize the tenon a little and if you need to tighten the die any do it in very small amounts.