Beautiful wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Painfullyslow

I am not sure if there is something like this here already but I was unable to find anything with a quick search so here goes:

I wanted to have a thread where people can post up various pieces of wood, whether that is in something that is made or just in raw material. The point being to showcase the many different species out there so those like me who are new can broaden our list of wood to keep an eye out for. Please be sure to include the species name with the picture so that we can use it for reference.

Plus I just like looking at beautiful wood.

If there is a story behind a particular piece, feel free to share.

For me, I am relatively new to wood in general other than construction lumber. What started my interest in fine quality wood was that I was very fortunate to run the day to day operations of a high end rifle company about a decade back. We used all sorts of exotic species and I really enjoyed learning what little I did about the various types.

This is what started my love affair with amboyna. This picture does not do proper justice but the piece which yielded two stocks was north of $5k. Finding exhibition grade burl in that size is pretty rare.

The top is amboyna, the bottom is claro (California black) walnut

DSC05772.jpg

DSC05773.jpg

Another claro walnut
DSC05778.jpg

and my personal rifle, also claro walnut

wm_7804883.jpg

wm_7804889.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MedWoodWorx

Creating a wood thread is a very good idea in my opinion also. At the end of the day a wooden piece will immortalise the tree from which it was taken; if you take in consideration that we value the burls, the strange grain and so on its actually a celebration of the tree's troubles when it was alive. Ok maybe i am overreacting but you get the point. Cheers

egnald

Those are gorgeous gun stocks.

Last week I found a very nice piece of Bocote at our local WoodCraft.