Applying Pens Plus

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ed Weingarden

I'm new to pen turning and as such, finishing pens. Based upon some of my readings on the forum, I've tried Pens Plus friction polish recently. I apply and buff with the lathe running at 2800 - 3000 rpm, with a blue shop paper towel. I'm not able to achieve a smooth surface; there are very fine radial lines of dried finish on the surface. Any suggestions as to how to not get those lines. Different cloth? Different lathe speed? Building up too much heat, or not enough? Thanks in advance for any and all feedback.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

The manufacturer / inventor,Mike Meredith, from Doctors Woodshop has a video about applying the finish on YouTube. Although there are variations that are used by other turners on IAP, I pretty much follow the instructions presented on the video. Link: Finishing A Pen With PENS PLUS.

Pens Plus is essentially a formulation of Walnut Oil, No-Waxed Shellac, and a synthetic microaggregated microcrystaline wax (Cosmolloid 80H). It is applied using a French Polish (friction polish) type of method, however, it is not designed to be a high build product. (I think because of the wax as most high build variants contain only oil, de-waxed shellac, and a solvent like denatured alcohol).

Are you sure the lines are dried finish or might they simply be sanding scratches that are exaggerated by the finish? Can you post some close-up pictures? That might help others better identify the situation and give recommendations.

Regards,
Dave

PS I make my own high build friction polish using Denatured Alcohol, Boiled Linseed Oil, and Zinsser SealCoat (Wax-Free Shellac). The recipe is attributed to O.B. Lacoste from Lafayette, Louisiana as promoted by Cap'n Eddie Castelin in several of his videos.

Last edited:

Ed Weingarden

@egnald: Thanks for the feedback and the video link. I'll take a look at that this evening.