Anyone Like This: LMS 7 X16 HiTorque Mini Lathe?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I have been down this road several times, and drove myself nuts researching the most popular ones (incl. PM).

I think I may like to learn how to use one, make some threads, turn some pens, etc.

I have the tooling to make kitless pens on a wood lathe and I have done it several times. I was hoping a metal lathe would make it easier and more precise. I am not looking to start tinkering with anything to make it do the job that it designed to do. I am far from a machinist.

I am really just looking for opinions on this lathe: LMS 7 x 16

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

That lathe will certainly do what you want to do. . I have no experience with that specific lathe, but I do trust LMS based on other products I've bought.
It is good to maintain compatibility with your present lathes ...... namely tailstock taper ( probably MT2 ), and headstock ( probably MT3 ).
This is in order to be able to use existing accessories that you already have.

There are cheaper lathes which will do that also, but if you are OK with the price, I would go for it.

A PM lathe would be superior, in terms of accuracy and longevity.

You don't need to drive yourself crazy in the selection process because just about any 7 x 14 or 7 x 16 lathe will work for pens.
As long as you don't want to turn metals other than brass (not hard to turn if you are careful) and aluminum (which is a little harder but quite doable).
Where it becomes "critical" is if you want to turn steel and I don't think you will want to do that.

I see that this particular lathe comes with a 4-inch 3-jaw. . That is good. . 4-inch 4-jaw would be better but you won't get that out-of-the-box.
What I am getting at is the throat diameter ..... I like to be able to insert blanks up to 0.83" diameter .... or so .... but not less than 0.8".