Any Small Engine Repairers Here?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wm460

Tennant Creek, Northern Territory, Australia,0860.
I am looking for a small engine repairer, or some one with the knowledge about Sthils.
I have a Stihl HS 74 hedge trimmer with a buggered carby.
mad.gif

A while ago I was given a Stihl BG 72 blower the motor worked but the plastic casing was stuffed.
They are both approx the same age.
My query is will the blower carby fit the hedge trimmer?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

Cleaning the carb is pretty easy and probably the cheapest option (unless by "buggered" you mean something other than gummed up). I watched a couple of youtube videos and was able to get mine going without much trouble. I'm far from an expert, but based on my quick search it doesn't look like they are interchangeable (BG72 and HS74, that is). Around here you can buy replacement carbs for about $15 shipped, not sure about how much it would be where youre at though...

farmer

Pour out old fuel , fill tank with new fuel and injector cleaner ..
clean the plug and start trying to start engine .

leehljp

Member Liaison
If it is not old fuel, and if there are other problems and you decide to get a new carb, plan on spending about $40 getting to take it to a reputable Stihl dealer and letting them set the carb for you. I ordered a new carb on my 18 year old Stihl 3 years ago (the fuel lines had cracks in it and I had difficulty starting it even when it was new. Upon getting the new carb, I couldn't find any instructions on settings and could not get it started. I took it to a local Stihl dealer and they had it running the next day. It was a matter of setting the mixture. I can do that on some small motors but the Stihl carb was a little different from the cheaper brand of home gas tools.