Air Comprssors

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Big

I am needing to get a new air compressor as my little pancake is only producing about 40lbs at best and is extremely noisy. My dilemma is that I am a novice when it comes to tools and the quality of tools. So, is something like a Kobalt from Lowes going to be on par or as good as say the approximate equivalent from Sears in the Craftsman line? I will also be shopping for a good Shop Vac and am looking at the one at Lowes that is a 16 gallon 6.5 peak model but is pricey at $179. Recommendations and comments very welcome as I defer to your expertise.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

snyiper

Kobalt tools seem to have a pretty good warranty and we don't see many come back due to defect. Craftsman is similar the only thing being the manufacture that gets the bid in both choices. As far as the wet vac you may get what you want cheaper if it is for dust collection as Lowes sells just the Head to put on a drum that may be a cheaper route if you do not need it to be portable.

Reactions: Big

JD Combs Sr

Caught this one on sale at Tractor Supply about 3-4yrs ago. Replaced one those head banger ones with it. No problems to date. YMMV Be sure to compare warranties when shopping. Also what you plan on using it for can change what your looking for as well.

Last edited:

DonWood

Shop Vac

Well, I would recommend Shop Vac. I can't say enough good things about them. I bought the large Shop Vac from Lowes I know over two years ago. It is in constant use as I use it as my dust collector. Well, the motor went out. So, I called Shop Vac directly and explained how long I thought I had used the vac and the fact that I did not have the original receipt and that I figured I would be dead in the water. And they said "Oh no, you're just fine" and they sent me a new motor free of charge.

Excellent service!!!!!

Big

Thank you all so very much for the information and advice, it will truly help me in my quests for what I need.