Adjusting pen balance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jelevy

So, I'm new to pen turning and was not able to find existing threads discussing this question (though some may exist)... and while I am new to this, I figured the collective Advanced forum would be the group to answer this.

Of the dozen pens I've made most (if not all) are top heavy and I'd like to how to move the balance towards the nib/paper. I'm aware I could make the lower barrel thicker and/or longer than the upper, but that aesthetic is not always desired. So,...

Does anyone know of a way to add mass inside the lower barrel... thereby affording me the freedom to make the exterior as thick/thin as I'd like? It'd be great to come up with solutions for the various types: ballpoint, rollerball, fountain pen. It'd also be nice to know if, then where, suitable materials might be obtained. Thanks all!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Welcome to the site. If you could include your name we would be able to better refer to you. Now to answer your question you will have to explain a little more as to if you are referring to kits and if so what kits are you using?? If you are referring to custom one of a kind kitless pens then show us an example. In fact we would like to see some of your work.

if you are talking about kit pens with two pieces, (cap and Nib ) then the easy answer is leave off the cap when writing with. There many pens that are non-postable. If you are talking of kits like cigar pens they are basically well balanced because the cap end tapers as well as the nib end as long as you stay away from bulbous portions. Do a bushing to bushing turning and you should be fine. After that as I said we need more info. :):)

I should add many of those gimmic kits sold by PSI are terrible to write with and are just that gimmick pens and to me just should sit on the desk for show. Not a fan of their designers for pens. Most of their kits are top heavy.

Last edited:

jelevy