Aaaargh!! What the heck am I doing wrong?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mullanphy

I've been turning wood for a few years and decided to turn my hand to pens. Wooden pens I'm doing OK with, but most of my non-wood blanks (store bought acrylics and self-made epoxy resin) explode on the mandrel.

Sometimes I see
the adhesive separated from the brass tube
the adhesive separated from the blank
So many small gouges in the blank the cutter (standard HSS chisels and carbide tipped) just takes a big bite and spits it back at me

I've tried speeds from 800-2000 rpm
I've used both HSS chisels and the new-fangled carbide tools, or a combination of both
My tools are sharp
I used thick CA as well as 5 minute epoxy - I let every tube sit at least 24 hours so the adhesive will cure completely.
Tubes are sanded with 220 grit
Drilled holes in non-wood blanks are rinsed in water and let dry

Light, moderate, or heavy pressure seems to obtain the same results - another tube/blank good as a bad example.

What the heck am I doing wrong?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

Well it's really hard to say. Since you've been turning awhile, you must have learned correct tool technique. Speeds for pens is pretty much wide open except for drilling, if you drill on the lathe. People will tell you the type of glue matters even though lots of people here use all types and all have successes as well as failures. Heavy tool pressure is never a good idea. Maybe find a pen turned near you and observe or maybe a pen turning class. Don't give up, you'll get there.

egnald

Hmm - I'm sure this must be very frustrating for you.

I have no way to tell how brittle your self-made blanks are, but the rules of thumb that I learned regarding 2-part resins at the place I worked are:

1) Make sure the resin and hardener are getting mixed thoroughly - it is important to scrape the sides and bottom of your mixing cup during the process to make sure the materials are very well blended.