A little nervous about this purchase, but plowing ahead with business.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Darrin

I'm leaning towards adding this to my shop.
Anyone have experience with this machine?
Its a Weiss 10x30. I'm a machinist by trade and a pen maker second so I think it'll be a good fit for what I do.
Any input is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 63405D9D-D190-4199-B93F-16C2B99E46F0.jpeg
    63405D9D-D190-4199-B93F-16C2B99E46F0.jpeg
    222.5 KB · Views: 318
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jalbert

Well... it definitely won't be underpowered for any pen related endeavors. Pull the trigger and don't overthink. You will find plenty of use for it.

gimpy

I heard nothing but good about them !!

I too was and is a machinist by trade
and have a grizzly metal large

PatrickR

Since there are two machinists to get an opinion here. I have a Seig style lathe that I would like to upgrade. Is a Weiss a lot better? From what I've read all the Chinese lathes are very similar. I wouldn't call mine a fine tuned machine, just adequate. Are there any options not made in China? For hobby use pens mostly but I do some other small items. I'm currently looking at Proxxon.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Mortalis

Semi retired Machinist/Manufacturing Engineer and while non CnC metal working lathes are really good for cutting metal straight, square and angled I cant reason that they would be as good at shaping wood. Oh, they may be able to cut wood but many times when cutting wood the profiles are not always straight and square.
To me, a spindle/bowl lathe has its place in the hobby and the metal working lathe has another. Just my opinion as I have never thought to use a metal lathe as a primary means to turn wood.

bmachin

That basic machine is sold under various names by various vendors: Precision Matthews and DRO Pros for sure and probably Grizzly and others. That doesn't mean that they are identical. Take a look here: