A bit dirty looking

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Alan Morrison

Alan Morrison

This is my first attempt at basket weave and I'm happy enough with the result except that it looks very dirty. It doesnt look so bad in the hand, but the photograph shows it a lot worse.
Timber is maple and mahogany and the glue was Gorilla wood glue.
Any suggestions?
Alan
IMG_1539.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

I see what you mean. Did you sand it? maybe sanding dust from the mahogany causing it. I would like it better if the design wasn't cut off at the nib end and more like the clip end. It looks like a difficult design to attempt. I do know what you mean about photos, sometimes they seem to show things that aren't there. Good job overall though.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Interesting design, I assume a 4-sided appearance? With this criss-cross pattern sanding and minimizing the bleed-out would be a challenge.

Maybe some sanding sealer right after your final cuts, before sanding? I use Mylands, but even a light CA may be helpful.

And I agree with, a slight tweak and the nib end can be paired with the finial end.

In spite of these comments, a very nice design!

SteveJ

Interesting design, can you show the blank before turning or give some idea of how you put it together? When I've gotten that "dirty" look it usually came from having some metal sanding grit contaminate when sanding. I also have it more likely to happen with softer light woods.

jttheclockman