60 days

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Well, today makes it 60 days since I joined here, so I thought I would share a bit of that went. I heard from a few people I have met in the past that I haven't heard from for ages. I made a bunch of new friends. I learned that I live about 15 miles from a well known company here in the pen turning community that I have never even knew existed, that being Exotic Blanks. Ed at Exotics invited me to ride along with him down to the first ever Chicagoland chapter of IAP meeting , my first IAP event I attended ( and it wont be my last!). Here I got a look at a partial showing of the IAP pen collection thanks to Mark James driving all the way there, and watched another Mark ( Dreyer) put on a great demo and set the tone for upcoming meetings I visited Ed at his business, and although he was drowning in orders to fill and stuff to do, he took the time to give me a tour of his place and he turned a pen while I studied his techniques. thanks Ed! I spent quite a bit of money buying a bunch of blanks in the classifieds on here, as well as ordering a great new toolrest from Rick Harrell , as well as placing an order with Exotic Blanks . I won a couple prizes during my first BASH (thank you again), and now have an excuse to get into trying to cast some Alumilite!
Also, I was the lucky winner in Georges Mr. Anonymous #39 contest, and now have a great selection of blanks from him to turn. Thank you George. I even learned that it isn't cheap to have stuff shipped from Aus., but it only took about 10 days or so to arrive!