3/4" lathe for pen turning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GrandadJohn

I have been given a lathe CWL 1000B. I am a beginner here. In fact I am just collecting information before I start. I understand that this type of lathe may not be suitable for pen turning?
I have looked on Amazon and can get a mandrel for the lathe.

Does anyone have experience of this lathe? I cant afford to buy one so needs must.

Also, what mandrel saver would you recommend?

Any help would be most appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Not familiar with this lathe but I did a wee bit of research and it looks to be adequate for beginner pen turning. Four speeds are noted. I suspect speeds are changed by modifying the position of the belt on pulleys. The top 2 speeds should be okay for pen turning. The mandrel you show a link to is one that I use - so try it. I didn't see it noted, so the headstock spindle may not have a Morse taper. If not, too bad, but it's not a show stopper. .
One other thing - If you are going to turn, you will need to either use carbide tools or learn how to sharpen traditional, steel tools. Sharp tools are mandatory! Most newer folk use carbide and often graduate to steel at a later date.
Good luck,

leehljp

Member Liaison
WARNING: VERY HABIT FORMING! For some it comes on gradually and other it hits instantly and you find yourself looking at what tools you can sell to be able to by more pen turning tools and upgrades! šŸ˜

Welcome. I started with a very mini lathe called the Taig. I was living overseas and it was the only thing I could put in my suitcase. Then when I was back in the USA a year later, I upgraded and had a larger lathe and paid to have it shipped back overseas with me.