Worm holes in Ash Lamp

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from thefunkyP

thefunkyP

Well, I've started branching out from pens and have been turning a few lamps. This is a rough shaped Ash lamp that as you can tell has multiple worm/beetle holes. I love the character they give but am curious about finishes.

What steps would I need to take to get a nice glossy shine on this piece?

In my own research I'm thinking a varnish type finish, after prepping and filling the holes with most likely epoxy.

Has anyone here, come across a similar situation? What method do you recommend? Am I missing anything in my method above?

I'm fairly new to finishes, I"ve dabbled in CA finishes on pens, but felt something else might be in order for larger items.

Attachments

• Wheeler Lamp 01.jpg
    Wheeler Lamp 01.jpg
    50.8 KB · Views: 349
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mickr

that would be a lot of filling..ash is open pored...I'd hate to try a heavy film finish on it..would look pocky...I personally would not do it...but it's your lamp...shellac & wax would be my choice ..doubt a lamp would be used roughly

alamocdc

Ben,

I work with wormy woods as often as possible because I like the look. Here are my recommendations:

First I would use CA to "stabilize" the runs filled with excrement to prevent more loss.

Secondly, I use epoxy (usually marine) and mix it with fine sawdust from a contrasting wood. This may take some time because you will have to do it in no less than 4 steps. About the best you can do w/o the epoxy running out of the void is one of four sides at a time. Blue painters tape sometimes works well as a dam to hold the mixture in place on light slopes.

Lastly, once all the fills have cured, just turn it back down. Then sand and finish as you normally would. Oh, make sure you use a sanding sealer on it prior to applying finish. This will prevent (or at least lessen) any tendency for blotchiness.