Wooden Civil War artillery

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bkersten

bkersten

Besides trying the new ideas and castings from the super folks here, I've been doing scale Civil War Artillery shells for the last 2 years. This one is out of witness wood from the battlefield were Gen Longstreet directed Pickets Charge on the 3rd days battle. It is a full scale, 3" Read out of Oak, with a witness walnut fuse adapter for a paper time fuse. While not in mass production, word of mouth has got several made, and some for the Battlefield Guides. Thanks for all your information and guidance. Bob

3" CS Oak Read
1_Read_1.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bkersten

It's not accessible as one would like - rather hard to get. I've done some template projects for a park guide that does witness projects for the battlefield foundation and buys it direct from the licensed Tree trimmers. We swap items for jobs. I try and watch how fast I make things or mine runs out. :frown:

Rifleman1776

Please explain what is meant by "witness wood".
And, please explain what this sentence means: "It is a full scale, 3" Read out of Oak, with a witness walnut fuse adapter for a paper time fuse."

BTW, excellent looking turning.

flyingmelon

Not sure about the details but witness wood is from a tree that has been standing since the time of whatever historic event that occurred in the area. Hence it "witnessed" the event.

bkersten

Not sure about the details but witness wood is from a tree that has been standing since the time of whatever historic event that occurred in the area. Hence it "witnessed" the event.