Waxing lathe bed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

cowchaser

Does anyone wax their lathe bed? If so is Johnson's Paste Wax fine? Just don't want mine to rust and I already wax my drill press and other items with Johnson's. If I can wax my lathe bed can I just use DNA to clean it?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

R2

I've used apriduct we get here called Mr.Sheen. It's a silicone based product and Some people thinthink its a No NO arond metal but i also use it on saw table and bansaw table. I NEVER use it on bearings.

n7blw

I've been using 'Topcoat' for several years on all my cast iron tool tops. I clean the metal with acetone to get all oil and grease off, then spray two successive coats of Topcoat, buffing with a blue paper towel after each coat. The stuff has no silicone, which raises havoc with some finishes. The shop humidity runs around 75-85%, yet I don't have any rust issues at all in this damp climate. I usually respray the surfaces about once a year.

dbriski

R2 I don't the the Silicone no no is because of the metal. It's usually thought of as a no no on your machines because it could get the silicone into the wood and it could prevent glues/finishes from adhearing properly.

Daniel

I have heard of a lot of issues with waxes etc. for woodworkers that do flat work. Mainly that it can contaminate the wood in one way or anouther. I have not heard any of this from penturners though. Not sure what you should or should not use just pointing out the issue there. I use turtle wax but I don't do custom cabinets or anything either.

At a demonstration, David Ellsworth advised against waxing the lathe bed because this would allow the tail stock to slip.
It made sense to me.

Larry G.
http://webpages.charter.net/lgottlieb2/

Rifleman1776

Originally posted by Daniel