Transfers?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dbarbee

I'm very new to pen turning and have been lurking here for some time trying to soak up as much knowledge as possible. There is one aspect of pen turning that really catches my attention. I have seen some pens that might have a name or logo on the pens. From what I understand you do this with a product called transfers? I have seen several posts that mention it in passing but fail to go in depth. I was hoping you might be able to point me in the right direction to learn how to do this. I will be working on a pen soon that needs to have a name written on it. Thanks.

David B.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bgibb42

I can't help you with the transfers or water slide decals, but have you considered the option of the having the pen engraved? There are several folks here that offer engraving services.

soligen

Ryan,

Do you have the specific color number (or whatever) for the krylon you use?

Also, can these be fed through the printer multiple times? Hate to use up one whole sheet for one small logo, and I dont have plans to produce many of these at once.

Thanks

ldb2000

Transfers and water slide decals are two different things .
Transfers are where the image is transfered form a piece of paper to the blank by heat . Photocopies can be used to transfer an image or text , you simply copy your image or text with a standard photocopier (make sure that you use a reversed image or text when you copy it) then using a heat transfer iron (you can use a regular clothes iron on the cotton setting but don't use steam ) and wrap your image tightly around your blank and heat with the iron . The heat will melt the toner on the paper and transfer the melted toner to the wood .
Water slide decals are the same ones you used on plastic models as a kid . You print your image on a special paper then cut the image from the paper and place it in some warm water then slide the decal on to the blank .

dbarbee