Sumac For Blanks ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

William Young

I have a bunch of young sumac trees that I have been topping for a few years so they are branching out and acting as a tall hedge . I was cutting some limbs about one to one and a half inches in diameter when trimming and I found that it has a real nice green and brown pattern to the wood. There is a soft pith in the middle but I dont think it is any larger in diameter than the size of tubes so it could probably be drilled out and the rest be useable as a blank.
Has anyone here ever tried making sumac limbs into blanks?
I am aware that ordinary lumber takes approx one year to the inch for drying from the green state. I am wondering if I was to square some 6" long pieces off to about 3/4" square with my bandsaw and paint the ends to help prevent splitting and sit them away to dry if they would be usefull or not for pens. At that size and length I would imagine the drying time should occur within 6 months if they are stickerd with small strips for air flow.
Has anyone here tried this?
W.Y.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tipusnr

I'm told that leaving the pith in a cutting from a branch is a real no-no that will lead to cracking and twisting. I got lucky with some peach but didn't drill through the center as that would negate getting any grain in the pen.

Just something to think about.

jimr