Question regarding fountain pen construction

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jhecht

In terms of preventing the nib from drying out and getting the best seal with the cap, is it generally considered preferable to have the cap seat against the shoulder of the section, or to have it seat against the end of the threaded section? (I'm new at this so hopefully that question makes sense. Seems like either of these would be an option depending on the way the cap is drilled.) I am using ebonite sleeves at the moment, but presumably the considerations would be the same for any material. Any other considerations that would argue in favor of one or the other approach? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Oliver X

It should stop and seal on the front of the section. I'd argue that even if it could stop and seal against the barrel behind the threads, it shouldn't. If it seals against the front of the section, you have the smallest possible sealed volume. If the pen leaks from being jostled or whatever, there's no real opportunity for that ink to flow down the side of the section or into the threads, making a mess, unless or until the pen is uncapped. The lip of the cap is typically quite thin, and if you're not making oversized barrels and thick caps, putting stress on the cap lip can cause it to break. Honestly, for the typical turned pen with threaded cap, there's absolutely no reason not to stop and seal against the front of the section.

rixstix

Can't help with the seat position question but there are other qualified turners to answer those specifics.

I've been testing a tapered, air tight, compression cap to body fit instead of threads. Haven't had a dry out yet. Nor have I had scratching issue yet.

Last edited:

its_virgil

Oliver is correct. It would be interesting know how many "bespoke, custom, kitless, artisan, etc" pen makers here make the cap seat against the end of the section. Just wondering.
Do a good turn daily!
Don