Probably a really dumb question...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgreen

I was looking over the Arizona Silhouette website, putting together my first order and perusing through the blanks something occurred to me:

How do pens that require a larger drill bit fit on the same size mandrel? Do the tubes have different ODs but the same ID? I can't see how having play between the blank and the mandrel would work, so I'm pretty confused. [:I]

Just a curiousity thing, while I am getting all the needed materials together.

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

clthayer

I am new to pen turning and I had this same question, but I quickly figured it out. The standard mandrels are 7mm, and the slimline and other 7mm tubes slide right on. The larger size pen tubes have bushings that fit into the pen tubes and the bushings are the correct size for the mandrels. Don't forget to purchase the bushings for the kits you are buying.[:)]
Christian

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
For slimline bushings, there are only two dimensions: inside diameter (about 1/4") and an outside diameter which is the dimension of the components. For larger kits, the bushings have a step which results in three measurements: inside diameter (about 1/4" for the "A" mandrel and larger for the Berea "B" mandrel), the a outer step diameter (this step fits inside the appropriate brass tube), then an outside diameter, which, again, matches up with the dimensions of the components. There should be virtually no play in the measurements.

mrgreen

So a bushing set for a pen kit would have a bushing that goes between the tubes and the mandrel, and a bushing for the tip, cap and center to "measure" the width of the finished piece? So a bushing set should have 5 pieces (2 inside "adaptors" and 3 bushings to surround the two blanks?

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam