Playing with Fire

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Cwalker935

Cwalker935

I was in a reckless mood yesterday, not only did I attempt a failed coup on wedding planning, I also played with fire in the shop. I made this potpourri bowl out of Canadian Hemlock. Although it was full of worm holes, it did not have much character. I have been wanting to try charring wood and decided to give it a try. I like the zebra effect.

image.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Very nice look and it is amazing what you can accomplish by a little embellishment in one manner or other.

The thought of wood charring brought back a few memories. Back in the 70's that technique was all the rage. I use to make rustic patio furniture from old wood wire reels. being an electrician I had plenty access to these and depending on the size wire ordered determined the size reel they would come on. I took quite a few different sizes and made tables and the smaller ones I made seats. At that time we were even a more throw it away society and they just junked those reels. now there is a deposit on them and the contractor wants to get his money back so they watch them. But I use to flame them after they were built. Looked pretty cool and sold a few.

I also use to make a chess table out of them. I would insert a chess board in the top of one and wrap in some rope detail. I did make one for myself. I would have to try to dig up some old still photos of it somewhere to prove this. But it did happen:)

Charlie_W

Wonderful job on the bowl Cody!
The charring really let the grain stand out!

What did you do after the charring? Wax? Spray finish?

On some things, I am using either a Matte finish or a Satin finish spray and lightly buffing. Just a clean wheel or just the Carnuba wax wheel.
This adds a soft sheen but does not have too much shine.

Buff lightly as some finishes don't like heat.

Cwalker935

Wonderful job on the bowl Cody!