New Tool and 1st Project

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from firewhatfire

firewhatfire

I asked about a new tool and based on the recommendations from you fine folks I am now the proud owner of a drum sander. It took half the night to get it set up and then today I started playing with it a little bit. This is my first project(maple and SA Walnut) out of it and it appears I will be getting alot of use out of this little gem of a tool. I did learn that a brad nailer is the wrong way to assemble the parts. I am now guessing glue should have been my method. any advice? It was on sale at my local woodcraft. Thanks for the advice and thanks for looking. Comments and Critiques are always welcome.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Uh oh...can-o-worms!!
If you are just using glue, then you need some kind of joint, other than a butt joint. A brad nailer should work fine, little colored putty in the holes and there ya go!

D.Oliver

Knowing what you were capable of before a drum sander, I can't wait to see what you make with this new tool.

firewhatfire

Lenny that is exactly the kind of info I was needing. Now I gotta whole new site to share my pen addiction with. Custom pens and boxes, maybe someday they will even match.

plantman

There's nothing like a new toy to get the creative juices flowing !! Why don't you make a simple jig for your table saw or router table to make finger joints ?? Also cutting your corners at 45s will give you a larger and better glue surface, and a seamless orner. When I make small boxs, I sometimes use my mini bisket jointer. This makes a very strong joint. Jim S

jttheclockman

Those did not look like brads, they looked like 10penny nails:biggrin: Just kidding. First congrads on a great new tool. Not sure how you are dimentioning your material but that maybe another concern down the line if you are going into box making.