Need some help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Exabian

Hello,

I managed to get my hands on a couple of 30 mm shell casings and I would like to repurpose it but it has the green paint coating the aluminum shell. My question is how would I go by removing the paint so I can expose the aluminum? Once I get that i will need to buff and polish the round. Any advice on this will be welcomed as well.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
I'm far from an expert in these things & have never tried a 30 mm case, but you might try turning a tight fitting jam chuck to fit into the open end then mount it between centers on your lathe to sand off the paint & polish it.

I do that sort of thing with 50 cal cases - no paint to clean off, but I sand them to clean off the gunk & tarnish. I usually just use 600 grit but sometimes follow that with a couple of mm pads depending on how it looks. Then I polish with Brasso or a similar metal polish then spray with a lacquer formulated for brass.

Of course the 50 cal cases are brass rather than aluminum, but I would think that a similar approach would work with appropriate polish & finish.

Exabian

I'm far from an expert in these things & have never tried a 30 mm case, but you might try turning a tight fitting jam chuck to fit into the open end then mount it between centers on your lathe to sand off the paint & polish it. I do that sort of thing with 50 cal cases - no paint to clean off, but I sand them to clean off the gunk & tarnish. I usually just use 600 grit but sometimes follow that with a couple of mm pads depending on how it looks. Then I polish with Brasso or a similar metal polish then spray with a lacquer formulated for brass. Of course the 50 cal cases are brass rather than aluminum, but I would think that a similar approach would work with appropriate polish & finish.