my first cast attempt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mwhatch

These are my first two cast blanks. A "Gone Fishing" sticker and a classic airplane stamp. I used a resin saver mold. I did not have any trouble with bubbles, but I did have what looks like some separation between the tube and the PR. You can see it in the close up of the airplane tube which has never been assembled, and near the top of the gone fishing pen. I used painted tubes from Woodcraft. The tubes were pretty glossy. I wonder If I should have scuffed the tubes or maybe paint my own. Any ideas of what might help?

Thanks
Morton

Attachments

• DSCI0031.jpg
    DSCI0031.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 357
  • DSCI0015 (2).jpg
    DSCI0015 (2).jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 277
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

Let me start by saying I'm no expert. If the separation isn't caused by air it may not have bonded to the tube. You didn't say if you use pressure but I do and still have trouble. I also noticed if I put a thin coat of elmers or white glue on the tube before gluing stamps or whatever it really helps. I also use PR.

mwhatch

I did not use pressure, I have had pretty good luck without. I think next time I will scuff the tube a little.

Morton

Kenny Durrant

I just started using the white tubes from woodcraft. Of course it seems every time I do something a little different it's like starting all over again. I don't know if I know what I'm doing or just getting lucky with my good days and bad days. Anyway good luck and let us or me know if you come up with something new.

Tage