I'm thinking of starting bowl turning...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Razorburne

Razorburne

...and I need some very basic help for being completely new at bowls. I know I can purchase bowl blanks at many of the places I would buy my ps making supplies but what I don't know is what sizes I should be looking for.

I do have a mini lathe with 10" swing so I obviou need to make something smaller than 10" but I suppose as a complete newbie how small do u suggest I start with? 5x5x2? 6x6x3? And as far as depth - 2 "'or 3"?

I have a Nova G3 chuck and although it may not be necessary I am considering getting a set of mini Cole jaws to reverse it and finish off the bottom of the bowl.

Is one method for chucking the bowl (recess vs a tenon) better or easier?

I know its a mixed bag of questions. I apologize in advance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lorbay

Bigger the better, but you will find that the larger you go with a small lathe is the ballancing, so it takes a while to get it ballanced. By far just starting out the tennon will be you best choice.

Lin.

MTViper

I'd recommend you start with a 2x6, cut it into squares and turn away. Another option is whatever you have on the fire place pile that will fit on your lathe. Don't invest in any expensive bowl blanks until you decide whether or not you like turning bowls. I started with a cedar 2x6 cause it's very forgiving.

If you like turning bowls, you'll love a set of cole jaws. They do make reversing a bowl for finishing the bottom easier.