Hi Another Canuk here

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Chief Hill

Hello all. My name is Rob Hill from Windsor Ontario Canada and I love this forum. Its very helpful and quite friendly.
Here is a bit about me I work full time as an ERT Fire chief in a industrial fire fighting team and also am a soldier with the Canadian Forces Part time. I have been a woodworker for years and have got on to this pen CRAZE about 4 months ago. The itch started when the wife said. IF YOU ARE GONNA SPEND SO MUCH TIME IN THE WORKSHOP (GARAGE) why don't you do something that makes money instead of making furniture and giving it away. So I decided on pen turning I went to Lowes and bought a Mini Lathe (cheep red thing / But variable speed #1 MT and it works great)..
I started turning some slim lines and streamline pens. Well then I got into segmenting different elaborate designs, aluminum inserts, Celtic Cross's, bullet pens. etc. Now I am in the El Grande, Canadiana kits.
I am loving this new hobby and love the response from people Wow you really made this!!!!
The wife a Reg Nurse and I took in the pens I made into work and they sold with great interest, everybody has said Christmas will boom. Long story short.... I was asked to set up a booth at our market to sell the pens which I have done and now its turning into a side business. I have made up a professional flyers and business cards. signs. display's for my little business ( Superior Designs Pens) Now I am trying to get myself set up at other events to get the word out and sell more to keep me busy.
Its getting bad now. I am starting to look at trees and burl woods on them wondering how I can get it to make more pens.

Look forward to talking with you all and posting up some pics.

Thanks,
Chief Hill
Superior Designs Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

micharms

Rob: