HELP... New Guy Mistake

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Smith

Hello. I've posted a couple of times on this forum and have not yet properly introduced myself. So, I figured that I might as well introduce myself as I admit to my error in pen assembly and ask for your help. My name is Jim Smith. I live in Conyers, Georgia which is about 20 miles Southeast of Atlanta. I'm very new to turning and pretty well hooked on pen making already. I've managed to complete about half dozen pens before I made a pretty good mistake. I made a Sedona Rollerball pen this past weekend. In the assembly, I misunderstood the directions and I pressed the plated centerband body into the tube without the delrin center band coupler in place. Is there any way to save this pen? I understand that I can purchase a Baron Disassembly Kit, but I want to make sure that this kit will allow me to remove the centerband body before I invest any more time in this pen.Thanks in advance for your advise.Jim Smith

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gerryr

Go to Harbor Freight and buy a set of transfer punches. You can then dis-assemble just about any kit. BTW, I think just about everyone has done exactly what you did at one time or another.

great12b4ever

Welcome to the addiction!!! :handshake:
I agree with the others, go to Harbor freight and buy a set of transfer puncehs. This will allow you to disassemble almost every kit, plus you will find other uses for it in your shop. :biggrin:

PaulDoug

This be the ones. on sell fore $5.99 often

Attachments

• mini-punch.gif.jpg
    mini-punch.gif.jpg
    38.7 KB · Views: 118

Jim Smith

Thank you gentlemen for your prompt replies to my question. I just ordered set of the Transfer Punches from Harbor Freight.Jim Smith

nava1uni

Go to the Harbor Freight's website, there is usually a coupon on it for a discount on the transfer punches. I use them all the time on disassembling pens and other things.