Hello from Pioneer Valley, MA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

vferdman

Hello and thanks for this amazing resource. I am completely new to pen turing and turning on a lathe in general. I've been making shaving brushes using my drill press for a while and getting good results, but I hit a brick wall of possibilities on that set up and I knew if I wanted to continue I needed a lathe and some turning skills. So last weekend was a "no sales tax" weekend in Massachusetts and my lovely wife bought me a Jet 1014 mini lathe (I was away from home on a motorcycle trip - what a wife!). I am learning the ropes of spindle turning and my love for fountain pens (and other obsolete, single function devices like watches, music players, wired telephones, etc.) combined with the spindle turning caused me to discover pen making using a lathe. This is an amazing field and I am really looking forward to turning my first pen. I bought a kit at Woodcraft that contains the mandrel, drill bits, bushings and 5 pen kits (4 pens and 1 pencil, actually). I will practice on dimensional poplar or something like that before hitting the kits because I really am a beginner and doing more you tube watching than turning at this point. However, I did create my first shaving brush on the lathe and will post pictures of it if there is interest (I realize it's off topic at a pen forum).

Thanks again and I look forward to learning the art of pen making.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Charlie_W

And welcome from Virginia! Welcome to penturning! Yes, there are lots of You tube videos to watch. Also, you will find tons of info in the IAP library! Watch videos on turning showing how to use different tools.
If you can get hooked up with a woodturning club in your area, that will help. You should find some penturners there as well.

Good luck and post some pics when you can!

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from Texas.