Guess I have a new hobby.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

airborne_r6

So I went to a woodworking show a couple weeks ago and my wife accompanied me. Craft Supply USA had a booth set up where you could turn a pen for free and they would help you do it. My wife, who has never done any woodworking ever, decided that she wanted to try it. She had so much fun and was so proud of the pen that she made that we are now starting to buy the things we need to turn pens. I had previously been avoiding turning because it was more tools that I really didn't have the money to buy, but oh well, it it gets her out in the shop with me it will be worth it.

About me, I am a full time student and a member of the National Guard. I used to do a lot of woodworking and have been working on getting the tools to get back into it.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

markgum

Welcome. Now, does your wife have her own lathe and stash of wood???:eek:
I was in SLC the last weekend in Oct and there was a show there; but didn't have the time to get to it. To many other commitments. :frown:

airborne_r6

Welcome. Now, does your wife have her own lathe and stash of wood???:eek:
I was in SLC the last weekend in Oct and there was a show there; but didn't have the time to get to it. To many other commitments. :frown:

That was the show. It was pretty good, I picked some router bits and templates for making raised panel doors at a substantial savings.

No she doesn't have her own wood and lathe, yet. In fact so far neither of us does. One of the local woodworking companies has a tool show in two weeks and they told me that their JET mini lathes are usually $50 off so I will get a lathe then. I will most likely have to prepare her blanks for her until she becomes comfortable enough with the tools to prepare her own. The lathe is very non threatening to her and I think that is why she was so excited to try it. The rest of the power tools are a different story however.

Last edited:

Daniel