Endangered

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rmartin

After reading many positive comments about Cocobolo wood, I purchased some blanks and turned them this weekend. They turned out beautifully. However, I have a concern. When I sell my work, I like to tell the story of the woods used, and I'm not sure I can get behind some of the woods we use. Cocobolo is listed as Extint/endanged in Costa Rica and supplies from other regions are dwindling which is driving up the price. I'm not concerned with the price, but rather the deforestation of the species. I don't mean to single out Cocobolo because there are other woods such as Zebrawood that are also in danger. I'm a born salesman, but I need to believe in the product I'm selling.

I believe if you care about the envirionment, you should stop using plastic diposable pens and switch to a hand turned renewable resource wooden pen which will last a lifetime. To me, it's a no-brainer, but if I then turn around and use a wood which is endangered, well, it defeats the purpose and I'm uncomfortable with that.

I'm wondering what everyone thinks about this subject?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chitswood

I'm thinking that its time to get the new trees growing, I don't like ebony at $60 per bd ft.

I've seen several sites that show the work they've done for several rainforests and they allow you to adopt trees, as well as harvest them when they're ready.
Might be worth googling

hrigg

According to this site...
http://www.exotichardwoods-southamerica.com/cocobolo.htm