Drilling with a Chuck in the lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DannyHeatley

I've heard of it done before, but I bought a lathe today and it came with a Chuck with a mt2 arbor ( I don't know if arbor is the right word can you tell I'm still relatively new at this? Haha).

I've heard if you get a Chuck it's a really nice way to always find the center. But how does it work? Do you need another Chuck to mount the blank on the dead center half of the lathe?

Sorry if it's been covered before but I couldn't find it in the archive!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jmbaker79

What sort of chuck did it come with? You will need something to hold the blank,Collet chuck 3 jaw chuck or 4 jaw... Psi carries a special chuck just for holding blanks but a 4 jaw chuck is more versatile. You will also need a drill chuck for the tail stock. Your bit remains still in the tail stock while your headstock and chuck spin as you advance the tail stock... Can't help you with the 5" bit but I'm sure someone will! Hope that helps some!

Last edited:

Kretzky

You would normally put the mt2 taper chuck in the tailstock. When drilling on the lathe the drill bit stays stationary & it's the workpiece that turns.
So yes you would need something to hold the workpiece in the headstock: faceplate, chuck (of some sort) eg collet chuck, 3 or 4 jaw chuck, these usually have a threaded hole in the back (3/4" or 1") to mate with the threaded boss on your headstock.
As for long drill bits I recently bought some Colt bits, they are amazing & longer than normal bits.
hope that helps
David
oops sorry! I more or less repeated jmb's post above.

Last edited:

edstreet

Any chuck will work, the key is to position it properly so that it will spin so that the center is where it needs to be at.