Drilling a pin stripe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

soligen

I got my collet chuck this week, and I'm still learning how to drill on the lathe. First practice attempt with a blank made from a 2x4 was off center by about .03 on one end, so I 'll be tweaking the tail stock alignment and re-testing before a drill a real blank.

Here is the question: I just made a segmented blank that includes pin stripes and an arch (reminiscent of a spider web). I need to get it right down the center. Would you guys recomend drilling the blank whole, or cutting it to fit the tubes first and drilling the parts seperate?

We'll probably see both answers, so please comment as to why.

Thanks

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
IF you drift, you will drift LESS in a shorter blank, so I would, generally cut first.

There may be exceptions, but I can't think of why!!

IF you don't drift, it is immaterial HOW you drill.

ldb2000

+1 what Ed said . Any drift , no matter how small , will be multiplied by the length you are drilling . Also the further your quill on the tailstock is extended the greater the error will be so a short blank will drill much more accurately .

workinforwood