Damascus steel knife assistance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from mmayo

mmayo

A friend asked me to help him make a knife for his father. I've never tried a knife before and of course I said sure. I presented him with all of the wood that was big enough to make wide knife scales and he selected bocote. I think I did most of the work but it was a fun project to do with someone else. I could see that perhaps I was a bit more anal than he was about finishing so we stopped and here's the result. It feels great in my hand.

9924099D-3EBB-4E21-81E8-194A55B0F4A8_zpspwo1mocu.jpg

5E70FA39-4FD0-47A0-8B29-DFD2FFB20F18_zps4gxzyvgy.jpg

I think I need to buy a folder knife kit since it was fun.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mmayo

The "kit" was just the blade. I had the wood and some brass rod and epoxy. We pretty much used most sanding tools in my shop. I'll check with him for his vendor.

mmayo

I made another one for a friend

I purchased the blade from eBay and my friend selected deep red bloodwood. Here are the results.

IMG_2194_zpss3gfklqb.jpg

IMG_2193_zpstnf5eo8r.jpg

IMG_2192_zpsrxziipcj.jpg

IMG_2202_zpsiua2pp2i.jpg

I finished with walnut oil using MM pads through the stack. A little pens plus finished the effort. It feels amazing to me. It used a Worksharp knife sharpener to make it scarey sharp.

Last edited:

Skie_M

Looks gorgeous ..... Still have plans laying about for building a forge ..... but buying a blade and making the knife would be doable with my current equipment ... I'm going to have to look into this some more! :)

mmayo

A drill motor, bit, pins, clamps and the saw you already have are needed at start. I used an oscillating spindle sander, but a belt sander would be great. I used HF 5 minute epoxy and clamped thoroughly to be sure there were no gaps between the scales and the blade.

Great tactile rewards as you move from 180-400 grit and then migrate to MM and oil. It was a nice change from pens and plugs.