Coffee Bean Pen Blanks problems

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Joemac8

I am relatively new to turning. I bought two coffee bean pen blanks and am having a difficult time turning without loosing beans. I am using an Easytool square end tool with a radiused blade and have a fresh edge and am going slow but I keep loosing beans. My blanks are now round but I don't want to turn any further as I am close to ruining the blanks. I have tried turning slow speed, medium speed as well as fast but get the same result. I believe that I am using a very light touch and I have the blade even with the center of the mandrl.

I could sure use some suggestions before I destroy the blank.

TIA, Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tim'sTurnings

I am going to try and make some coffee bean blanks soon but haven't yet. From what I have read on here you need to keep applying CA as you are turning to make the beans stick so they will turn, not fly out.

desertrat

I fill the voids with ground coffee and med. ca then light cuts with a sharp skew. Soaking the blank with thin ca. as you turn also helps to keep the beans in place. They are a pain to turn but the end result is well worth the effort in my opinion.
Hope this helps

John H

low_48

I've made several and never lost a bean. Dumb luck? Maybe, but I turn at really high speed, light cuts, and skew only. The shearing cut from the skew hardly puts any forces on the blank.

Joemac8

Unfortunately, I have no skill with a skew. The scraping cut with an EasyWood turner is a scraping action and, at least in my case, not very good. I have been using a lot of CA, have a new, sharp blade and take very light cuts. After four light passes, I stop and re-CA and let it rest 1/2 hour and get back at it.