Cloudy CA?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MatthewZS

I'm hoping someone can tell me what's happening here. I'm no expert with CA finishes, but I've got the routine down pretty good I think. quick rundown on my procedure. When I finish a piece I sand the wood from 150 up thru 600. Mist the wood with water to bring up the grain and resand 320, 440 and 600. Let it dry, then apply 3-5 coats of thin CA. I don't use accelerator. Now at this point the CA looks fine. Next I wetsand with micromesh up thru 12000. Now when I get done with this.... SOMETIMES...... I get what looks like huge air bubbles under the CA. The surface of the CA is still polished but the CA in that area is .....white..... or foggy. I can see the woodgrain clearly, there is simply NO gloss to the finish. When it does this, no amount of re-polishing will do any good. I tried every way from sunday to get a photo of this effect but it just didn't come out. It literally looks like a half inch or larger patch of the finish is just cloudy, or more to the point, matte finished no matter how I polish.

Any thoughts on my rambling?

Thank you:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wood-of-1kind

"Mist the wood with water to bring up the grain and resand 320, 440 and 600"

I could be wrong, but your "misting" with water may be causing the "fog" (no pun intended) on your CA.

turbowagon

Two thoughts:

- skip the misting, moisture can cause cloudy CA

- make sure you're not sanding completely through the finish, 3-5 coats of thin CA is fine, but easy to sand through if you're not careful

aggromere